First Review: Sono Hanabira ni Kuchizuke o: Tenshi no Hanabira Zome

Hi, so my first review for this blog will be Sono Hanabira ni Kuchizuke o: Tenshi no Hanabira Zome. This is the eighth game in the Sono Hanabira series. It is created by a doujin circle called Furugiya. I am reviewing it because it is the second game I’ve read in Japanese and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Synopsis/Story Introduction:
The game begins showing the daily life of a girl (the protagonist) named Kirishima Shizuku (霧島雫) and her first interactions with Shitogi Ellis (an exchange student on her first day of school) (粢エリス). Shizuku is then selected to show Ellis around the school. The primary setting for the game is their school, St. Micheal’s girls academy.  Ellis and Shizuku are vastly different people, especially personality wise. Ellis is a whimsical, free spirit who appears to have led a very relaxing life. Whereas Shizuku has clearly been groomed into a young Yamato Nadeshiko (大和撫子). For those of you too lazy to click that link if you don’t know what that is, think ojyousama type personality. The game then revolves around Shizuku trying to properly convey her love to Ellis, all the while Ellis does it for her effortlessly. There ends up being many hilarious situations, primarily because Shizuku is such a prude and a bit tsundere.

            

Plot/Character Growth:  9/10
The plot for a game like this, which is generally not such an important part of the game, is actually quite good. And it is also better than the other Sonohanabira games I have played. Both characters drastically change throughout the story and it’s really quite endearing. There is a ton of jokes and various comedic elements as well. Some bizarre quotes from apparently famous Japanese books as well (that was fun to decipher!). Only thing preventing a perfect score is I feel there could’ve been more information about the characters, in particular Ellis. It isn’t as though I’m saying there wasn’t enough though, there is quite a bit, I would’ve just preferred a bit more.

CG/Interface/Art: 8/10
This game runs in an 800×600 resolution. Which is kind of low, I would’ve preferred high for obvious reasons, but it gets the job done. The actual CG and sprites are gorgeous. They are drawn in a very smooth, cute way. There aren’t any expressions or CGs I did not like. I absolutely love how they draw these characters. The backgrounds not so much though. The backgrounds are all very plain with the exception of the school garden, which looked pretty much amazing. Some of the cutest scenes and CG I’ve ever seen are in this game. The interface itself (options, menus, GUI) are pretty standard stuff. Nothing in particular is missing, you scroll using the mouse to go backwards, and scrolling forward doesn’t advance the game (which I like).

          

Music/Voices: 8.5/10
The voices for these two characters are absolutely amazing. I love both of their voices, especially Ellis’s. It really captures what you think they should sound like. They both sound very beautiful and almost soothing. The other voiced characters, which are usually labeled “GIRL A B C D” etc, have some interesting voices as well, not particularly soothing though (“kyaaa” in particular, lol). The game’s music is pretty average, I would even say it’s the weakest part. I don’t even really remember the music, it wasn’t really that bad, but nothing you can tap your foot to or hum.

Ero: ~/~
I am not a fan of ero in games generally, I enjoyed certain parts, but… I really just don’t care about it and thus won’t even rate it. I will say that the art for the ero CG was fantastic for the most part.

Overall: 9/10 素晴らしい!

I loved this game and if you liked any previous Sono Hanabira game I guarantee you will too! Don’t forget it has a really cute and endearing story to go along with the art as well. If you’re a fan of yuri but would normally just ignore this since it’s considered Nukige, I’d beg you to reconsider.

I leave you with an amazing related image! Thank you for reading!^^

This entry was posted in Eroge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Review: Sono Hanabira ni Kuchizuke o: Tenshi no Hanabira Zome

  1. Mazyrian says:

    This is one of my favorites Sono Hanabira games. In such character-centered games, it’s them what make or break it, and this couple is my second favorite one, behind Mai x Reo.
    And as for the development, there will be probably another game with this couple, so there’s looking forward to that.
    I’m not usually one to care much for the ero, but still found the one in the Sonohana series pretty good. As you said, if you don’t care for it but want some yuri these games are a good choice, but if like a yuri nukige (not like there’s much choice) with good characters then they’re very recommended.

  2. Aaeru says:

    Sono Hanabira is a little too much ero for my taste. The doujin group did a non-ero game once called はなひらっ!…that I have yet to finish.

    dniknu I’ve added you to my blogroll, add me as well if you like. I put a verbose comment on Mazyrian’s latest post – which summarizes my thoughts exactly.

    Hope to see more of your reviews!

    Aaeru

    • dniknu says:

      Ooh, I just now noticed this, hate how they don’t always notify via email for new posts ><. /adds you to blogroll. I plan to review every game I play in Japanese, there will be more :).

  3. Overlord-G says:

    A well written 1st review dood. I’m honored to know yet another member of the yuri nation. the more, the merrier I always say. Though mighty, the nation isn’t exactly powerful enough to make a true impact in the entertainment industry but we must stick together and do whatever we can to introduce the beauty of romance between two women to residents of the blogosphere who are willing to accept greatness.

    Hanabira 8 is definitely one of the most anticipated episodes in the Hanabira series Western fans are eagerly awaiting the English translation of. I must know what kind of magical words the lovely princess of the night, Ellis used to mesmerize the elegant Shizuku.

  4. Mary says:

    Very well written review. I actually dislike ero games as well, and am not even a giantic yuri fan (more into yaoi usually), but this one…

    …just manages to hit the right buttons.

    Your review actually made me check it out a while ago, so here I am, returning to tell you that your review was, in my opinion, spot on. Thank you for it, I may never have looked at this game otherwise.

Leave a Reply

